Posted by: M & T | September 7, 2010

Baking on the grill? Sure.

So, this summer our oven conked out.  Perfect.  We were planning on buying new appliances after the New Year, hoping the current ones would last that long.  Not that big of a deal but we are stalling a bit until after our vacations.

I have been itching to bake, though!  So after a bit of internet research, I decided to attempt baking on the grill.  As long as the grill is closed, it will behave like an oven.  The temperature may be a bit tricky to control, so keep and eye on it.  I used the outter burners so it was more of an indirect heat.

Since this was my first try, I didn’t want to waste too much time with something fancy.  I used the Tastefully Simple Wheat Beer Bread mix – all you have to add is the beer!  I mixed it up, poured the batter into a greased 9 x 5 bread pan, placed that in another baking pan (to avoid burning the bottom) and placed it in the center of the grill.  I was able to keep the temperature between 375 and 395 degrees; check the temperature every 10 minutes or so.  Don’t keep opening the grill, though.  There goes your “oven.”  The recipe says @ 375 for 50-55 minutes.  I opened the grill after 35 minutes to check on the bread and it was done!  Faster baking….a bonus!

The bread came out great!  The bottom was a tad overdone, but not much.  Next time I will figure a way to raise the loaf pan higher off the grates, maybe use the upper level.  Tim and I are excited to try some other baked goods on the grill!

Leave a Reply

Categories

